Book Review Pt1: Black-box testing: techniques for functional testing of software and systems

On the 20th anniversary of Black-box testing: techniques for functional testing of software and systems (1995) by Dr. Boris Beizer, the first book I ever read about… actually, the first thing I read about software testing, I review the book to introduce it to the generation of testers that never heard of it.

First, I have to admit that I forgot the premise of the book was to build knowledge about modeling in order to support development of software tools. I generated tests with a product in the late 90’s called TestMaster by Teradyne Software. Yes, I just linked to GeoCities. I also developed my own generator after being inspired by Harry Robinson’s Intelligent Test Automation.

The section about Missing Models explains this book in relation to software testing books from before this book’s existence, focusing mostly on Myers’ The Art of Software Testing. It describes different types of models including logic-based models and language-based models. Thanks for reminding me about how much I have not read.

Right after the preface, BAM! I see the readme.doc chapter. Now I know that I’m dealing with a softare professional, in the greatest sense of the word. Read this, it’s quick. The books is efficiently organized, so it’s to have a good map. The readme explains the structure of the chapters in relation to each other, and the structure of each chapter.

I am already excited about this.

Leave a Reply

